Ruhunu Sanskruthika Mandalaya (Ruhunu Cultural Institution) of Sri Lanka is a voluntary social service organization, incorporated by the Parliamentary Act No,18 of 1988. It was inaugurated in the year 1985 through the initiation of a few culturally inclined, service oriented legendary enthusiasts of Ruhuna. (Ancient Sri Lanka – then known as Ceylon – was divided into three main geographical regions called Ruhunu, Maya and Pihiti. Later on, for administrative convenience, all three regions were sub-divided into nine Provinces, and each Province was further divided into several Districts. The ancient map of Ceylon, shown elsewhere, depicts the three regions of Ruhunu, Maya and Pihiti)